Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Amor Steals Show with Three Feature Wins, Terry Crowned Late Model Champ of Plymouth Speedway

September 7, 2010

This past Saturday night the Plymouth Speedway hosted the Outlaw Late Models for 2010 Season Championship night along with four other classes of cars. The sportsman, street stocks, mini stocks, and front wheel drives.

            In qualifying Brian Ross set the pace for the late models with a time of 13.398 seconds around the 3/8 mile. In the sportsman division Zach Tanner had fast time with a lap of 14.116 seconds. The mini stocks watched as Darin Harrell set the pace for the field with a lap in 15.041 seconds. The street stocks watched as Stephanie Scott blazed around the track in track record style by setting a new record for the class with a time of 15.177 seconds.

            The front wheel drives and mini stocks both ran one heat. In the front wheel drive division Tom Taylor went to victory lane after the checkered flag fell on their heat event. In the mini stocks Derek Davis went to victory lane after the ten lap race.

            The street stocks ran two heat events that were fast and filled with great racing. Vic Humes and DJ Frost both recorded their first wins of the season with their respected heat race wins.

            The sportsman had two heat events consisting of eight laps each. The fast heat was won by the current point leader Ron Maynard Junior while Tony Chapman tasted victory with the second heat win.

            The late models were out in full force on Saturday for championship night and ready to do battle in their eight lap heats. Picking up heat wins for the division on Season Championship evening were Bryce Schaeffer of Niles, Michigan and Shawn Amor of Plymouth to get his night rolling.

            The first feature out was the front wheel drive fifteen lap feature. Tom Hellinga jumped out to the early advantage and used lap traffic to his advantage to win another feature in his mesmerizing 2010 season. He was followed across the line by Tom Taylor in second and Kevin Whitmer rounded out the podium in the third position.

            The mini stocks ran a twenty-three lap feature that was filled with many caution flags and a handful of mishaps. When the checkered flag was finally waved in front of the field it was Michael Mast returning to victory lane for the first time in the second half of the season. He was followed closely by Ben McCallum and Dave Biesemeyer is the third spot.

            The late model feature went forty laps around the 3/8 mile for the season championship. With only two laps into the event defending champion and point leader wrecked hard into the outside wall finishing his night and hoping for the results to finish in his favor when the checkered flag fell. When it finally did Shawn Amor crossed the line first for his first late model feature win of the year at the Plymouth Speedway. He was followed in second by Brian Ross and Rich Boal finished in third. The finish was exactly what Terry needed to hold on and defend his track title in 2010.

            Amor continued his domination into the next feature, the sportsman thirty lap event. He worked his way to the front quickly and never looked back. Amor watched as the checkered flag flew over his roof for a second feature in a row. He was followed to the line by Derrick Griffin in second and Rodney Smith finished in the third position.

            The final race of the night was the street stock twenty-five lap feature. Shawn Amor charged to the front of the field and never received another challenge for his third and final win of the night. D.J. Frost of Plymouth took second while Cory Lindsey finished in the final podium position.

            09/08/10 This Saturday night the Plymouth Speedway will host the third and final leg of 2010 Plymouth Speedway Triple Crown for the outlaw late models. The night will also feature the 2010 Season Championships for the sportsman, street stocks, mini stocks, and front wheel drives. The racing action will begin at seven o’clock. For more information go online at