Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Campbell Wins ASA Late Model Sunoco 100 at Plymouth Speedway

June 29, 2010


This past Saturday night the storms stayed away for another night of great racing action. Four great classes of cars pulled into the pit area for a night filled with awesome racing action.

            In qualifying the ASA Late Model North series set a new track record with Robbie Pyle going the 3/8 mile with a time of 13.329. Ty Hayes was the fastest in the outlaw late models with a time of 13.477. Darrin Harrell set the pace in the mini stocks with a time of 15.181.

            In heat racing action the mini stocks saw Dale Oliver Senior and Zack Newgent grab the checkered flag with victories. 

            The late models ran two heat events that were eight laps each. Picking up heat wins were Bremen’s Craig Cassel and Brian Muick of Chesterton.

            The supercups ran two heats with juniors and adults separated in their each respected heat. The juniors followed Kodee Busekross to the finish for the win. In the adult eight lap heat Geoff Gerline nabbed the race win.

            The mini stocks raced for twenty-five laps on Saturday night for their feature event. Darrin Harrell held on for back-to-back feature wins adding to his point lead. Finishing second was David Biesmeyer and Justin Cogswell rounded out the podium in third.

In the Sunoco 100 for the ASA late models the racing was great out front. Brian Ross led the first eighty laps until Brian Campbell pulled a pass on the inside of the second turn. Eddie Hoffman and Robbie Pyle got around Campbell with just a lap remaining but on the final turn got the two drivers got tangled and sent Campbell across the line backwards for the win. It was Brian Campbell’s first win at the speedway. Eddie Hoffman finished second with Robbie Pyle in third.

            In the outlaw late model forty lap feature it was all Craig Cassel. Cassel got out front early and never looked back except for late race challenge by Rich Boal. Cassel recorded his first feature race win at the track while Boal held on for second. Adam Terry, the defending point champion raced from the back of the pack three times to round off the podium in third.

            The junior supercup division ran a twenty lap feature. Picking up the feature win was Jacob VanWazer. Finishing in the second position was Erica Ensor and rounding out the podium in the third position was Kodee Busekros.

            The adult supercup feature was twenty-five laps in length. Picking up the feature win and staying undefeated at the track for 2010 was Ed Ensor. Tony Velez and Nathan Kelly rounded out the podium respectively.

This Saturday night it’s the return of the International Outlaw Figure Eight Cars to the Plymouth Speedway for their first visit in 2010. They will be pitting along side the sportsman, mini stocks, and street stocks. The night will also feature a brilliant fireworks display for the Independence Day weekend. For more information go online at

Andrew Hayn Correspondent

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,