Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Carnegie Rolls a Bus, Tanner takes Trailer Race, and McGuire Wins Derby at Plymouth Speedway

September 8, 2010

09/09/10 This past Sunday the Plymouth Speedway hosted its second and final crashfest for 2010. The fans came to the track in droves as the pits filled with competitors for the vast array of events that were planned for the night.

The spectators began the night with the spectator drags. The championship round took three two lap races for Chase Cassel to finally lockup the win out of the loser’s bracket. He was able to race his Honda Integra to the race win over Jeremy Singleton’s For Mustang.

The second event was also for the spectators and featured a burnout contest. Zach Tanner lit up his rear tires in his open cockpit hot rod for the full thirty seconds and won the crowds approval for the six foot trophy.

The demolition derby ran for well over thirty minutes until the final stick was broken thanks to Bruce McGuire III finishing off Rick Hollingshed. McGuire III won the event with Hollingshed finishing in second.

The bus race followed where the seven competitors competed for five laps around the oval and ten in the figure eight. On the final lap of the oval race Scarecrow turned over Vinnie Carnegie in his 07 bus and he land on his side. After a few close calls in the “X” of the figure 8 Darrin Miller of Plymouth held on for the race win. He was followed in second by Zach Tanner and Scarecrow in the third position.

The trailer racers came out for the final competitive event of the evening in a twenty lap fiasco. Zach Tanner of Plymouth took his Chevy Suburban to the front early as he handled the wet soapy track with ease. Finishing in second was Rick Hollingshed and Dave Hare finished in the third position.

This Saturday night the Plymouth Speedway will host the third and final leg of 2010 Plymouth Speedway Triple Crown for the outlaw late models. The night will also feature the 2010 Season Championships for the sportsman, street stocks, mini stocks, and front wheel drives. The racing action will begin at seven o’clock. For more information go online at