Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Commissioners to Hire New Veteran’s Service Officer

December 31, 2010

01/03/11 The Marshall County Commissioners held a quick meeting Friday, December 31st to complete their final business for 2010.   Appointments were mad to the county’s Sick Bank Committee.  County Survey Larry Fisher has agreed to serve for another year and new Sheriff Tom Chamberlin will replace former Sheriff Jon VanVactor.  Cindy Andrews has been the hourly employee representative on the board.  Because of her busy schedule in the courts she has asked to be replaced.  Brenda Myers of the Treasurer’s office has agreed to serve as the hourly employee for 2011.

The Commissioners made their annual appointments.  Commissioner Kevin Overmyer said they conducted department head evaluations with written evaluations during an executive session on December 20th.  The following department heads were reappointed:

EMA Director – Clyde Avery                                   Build Grounds – Rich Ulrich

Building Inspector – Dennis Elliott                           Highway Superintendent – Neal Haeck

I.T. Director – Michael Marshall                               Museum Director – Linda Rippy

Weights & Measurers – Jim Wenino                         County Attorney – Jim Clevenger

The County Commissioners unanimously approved not reappointing Fred Kowaleski as the Veteran’s Service Officer.  Kowaleski had been an assistant to former Veteran’s Service Officer Jim Stapan and then replaced Stapan when he got sick and passed away.  He was appointed by the commissioners for his first full year in 2010.

The commissioners asked Auditor Penny Lukenbill to advertise the opening for a part-time Veteran’s Service Officer.  Their goal is to fill the position by the end of January.