06/23/11 In celebration of its 175th Anniversary, the Plymouth First United Methodist Church has planned a walking tour of previous and current church locations. The walk will begin at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, June 25. Following the walk, members and friends have been invited to a free Ice Cream Social on the church lawn at 400 North Michigan Street. The public is invited to both events.
The church was organized in 1836. The first church building was built in 1851 on Center Street, where the parking lot of the First United Church of Christ now stands. In 1867 the church built a red brick church on the corner of Center and LaPorte Streets, where Granny’s Restaurant is now. They also met for a short time at the old Gem Theatre. There were other temporary sites, but those are the three the tour will visit before returning to the current church at 400 North Michigan (the corner of Michigan and Adams), which was dedicated on July 4, 1915. The Education Building east of the church was constructed in 1957. The Ice Cream Social will occur after the walk.