Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Ancilla Women’s Basketball Players Earn Postseason Honors

March 16, 2011

DONALDSON – Sophomore forward Shalana Murray (South Bend, IN/ Washington HS) headlined a list of Ancilla College women’s basketball players receiving postseason honors, the College announced on Wednesday.

Murray was named to the All-Region team for NJCAA Region 12 and also collected MCCAA All-State and MCCAA All-Western Conference honors after averaging 10 points and nearly 14 rebounds per contest for the Lady Chargers during the 2010-2011 season.

She became just the fourth player in team history to earn All-Region honors and finished seventh in the nation in rebounding for NJCAA Division II.

She was joined by MCCAA Honorable Mention All-Western Conference selections Allison Worden and Meghan Brown as those earning recognition from the conference.

Worden (Peru, IN/ North Miami HS), a sophomore forward, averaged seven points and six rebounds per contest and shared team MVP honors with Murray.

“Both players had a huge impact on our team this year,” said Ancilla women’s basketball coach Dave Liverance.  “Shalana is one of the best rebounders I have ever coached and Allison was our sparkplug.  She did all the little things to help our team.”

Brown (New Castle, IN/ New Castle HS), a sophomore guard, averaged nearly 11 points per game and was a consistent threat from beyond the arc for Ancilla.

Two players shared “Most Improved” honors on the team – freshman forward Pattie Olsen and sophomore guard Naomi McNeal.

Olsen (Knox, IN/ Knox HS) averaged three points and three rebounds as her role continued to grow throughout the season.  McNeal (Chicago, IL/ Percy L. Julian HS) averaged nearly eight points per game.

“Pattie really came on at the end of the season and made great strides in developing a complete game,” said Liverance.  “Naomi made strides over the last year at running our point.  She developed a mind for the game and started to understand the role of a point guard.”

The “Coaches Award”, given to the players who most exemplify what a coach wants done on and off the floor, were shared by Worden and sophomore forward Sabrina Hatfield (Shirley, IN/ Knightstown HS).