Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Argos High School Receives IN Graduation Rate Performance Incentive

June 27, 2011

06/28/11 Argos High School was named among twelve high schools around the state to receive the Indiana Graduation Rate Performance incentive. The program was first created in 2009.

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Tony Bennett said, ““I am proud of all schools across the state that have increased their graduation rates, but these twelve schools shine brightest for driving dramatic increases in the number of students receiving meaningful high school diplomas,” Bennett said. “With schools like these leading the charge, we are well on our way to achieving our goal for at least 90 percent of all Indiana students to graduate from high school.”

Ten of the twelve will receive a $20,000 award and the remaining two will be given $10,000 awards. The building principal and corporation superintendent of each winning school will receive the funds and may distribute the cash awards to staff members whose work was critical to achieving the graduation rate increases. The principal may receive no more than $5,000 of the award amount.

The monetary awards were given to those high schools with the greatest increases in audited non-waiver graduation rate between 2008-2009 and 2009-2010.

Bennett added, ““In April, the Indiana General Assembly joined the movement to reward teachers for their outstanding performance in the classroom, and we are able to do the same today by rewarding these schools who helped more students earn meaningful diplomas. I applaud the students, teachers and administrators from these schools and encourage them to keep up the good work.”

The Indiana Graduation Rate Performance Incentive program is funded with cost savings created since 2009 through administrative and operational efficiencies within the Department of Education. For more information on non-waiver graduation rates, go to

A compete listing of those high schools being honored included the following:

Schools receiving $20,000 each

  • Fall Creek Academy
  • Argos Community Jr-Sr High School, Argos Community Schools
  • Charles A. Tindley Accelerated School, Indianapolis
  • Austin High School, Scott County School District 1
  • Kankakee Valley High School, Kankakee Valley School Corp.
  • Caston Jr-Sr High School, Caston School Corp.
  • Rochester Community High School, Rochester Community School Corp.
  • Shakamak Jr-Sr High School, M.S.D. Shakamak Schools
  • Mississinewa High School, Mississinewa Community School Corp.
  • Seeger Memorial Jr-Sr High School, M.S.D. Warren County

Schools receiving $10,000 each

  • North White Jr-Sr High School, North White School Corp.

Medora Jr-Sr High School, Medora Community School Corp

Carol Anders Correspondent

Tags: ,