Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


April 10, 2011

04/11/11  The Grants Committee of the Marshall County Community Foundation awarded the first round of grants for the year 2011 during a news conference held April 7.

Grants Awarded from the General Endowment Fund:

The General Endowment Fund of the Marshall County Community Foundation exceeds $4 million, which enables the Foundation to award grants in excess of $100,000.00 on an annual basis.  General Endowment Fund grant applications are due February 1st and August 1st each year.  Grants are awarded from this fund to support health and human services, youth, arts, civic and scientific endeavors, education, environmental and prevention of cruelty to animals and children as allowed by the IRS regulations.

The following ten organizations in Marshall County received a combined amount of $49,954 as part of the first round of grants for the year.

Ancilla Domini College Help launch the ADEPT (Assistive Developmentally-Enhanced Program and Technology) program. $ 20,300.00
Community Hospital  Bremen Purchase cardiac services equipment. $   7,578.73
Earthworks, Inc. Start a program to train young adults with specific barriers to employment in both baking and workplace skills. $   3,000.00
Heart and Hands Purchase a digital color copier. $   3,000.00
JESSE Purchase soil and provide a water source for the community garden. $   4,000.00
Marshall County Blueberry Festival Purchase 50 recycling bins. $   2,125.00
M.C. Convention & Visitors Bureau Create a Lincoln Highway tourist information/kiosk center on Jefferson Street in Plymouth $   3,250.00
Potawatomi Park Support the multi-phase technology project. $   3,200.00
Yellow River Festival  of M.C. Purchase a sound system. $   2,000.00
Leadership Marshall County A continuing grant to help fund the Leadership Marshall County program. $   1,500.00

Grants Awarded from the Ralph C. Vonnegut Jr. Fund:

The Ralph C. Vonnegut Jr. Fund was established to provide funding for environmental, educational or recreational projects directly related to Lake Maxinkuckee.  Ralph C. Vonnegut Jr. Fund applications are due February 1st.

Three grants totaling $9,926 were awarded to the following two organizations in the Culver/Lake Maxinkuckee area:

Lake Maxinkuckee Association Lake Patrol Purchase a computer. 1,926
Lake Maxinkuckee Environmental Council Update water tests conducted around the lake. 4,000
Lake Maxinkuckee Environmental Council Hire a firm to map all plant beds within Lake Maxinkuckee for an aquatic plant management plan. 4,000

Grant committee members include James Erwin, Chair of Plymouth, Kay Finlay of Culver, Kurt Garner of Plymouth, Kevin Hickman of Bremen, Tammy Houin of Plymouth, Patti Kitch of Bourbon, Carolyn Kline of Culver, Louise Mason of Bourbon, Robert Pickell of Plymouth, Sarah Smith of Plymouth, Susan Wagner of Plymouth and Jim Weirick of Culver. Sylvia Bieghler of Plymouth, Dean Byers of Plymouth and Susie Reinholt of Plymouth serve as advisors to the committee.

Grant Applications and additional information may be obtained by calling the Marshall County Community Foundation at 574-935-5159 or visiting their website at

The Marshall County Community Foundation is a public charity with local roots that helps great ideas take flight through endowment philanthropy.  We are Community-Minded Partners, Trusted Investors, Visionary Thinkers, and Opportunity Connectors.


2011 first round grant recipients gather at MCCF offices to receive awards.

Front Row (l to r) – Name and Organization representing

Rebecca Griffy – Heart and Hands

Marianne Peters – Marshall County Blueberry Festival

Teressa Welborn – Yellow River Festival of Marshall County

Jane Grund – Lake Maxinkuckee Association Lake Patrol

Kathy Clark – Lake Maxinkuckee Environment Council

Back Row (l to r) – Name and Organization representing

Jennifer S. Maddox – Marshall County Community Foundation, President and CEO

Bob Wise – Joint Educational Services in Special Education

Connie Holzwart – Marshall County Blueberry Festival

Mike Woolfington – Marshall County Convention & Visitors Bureau

Dr. Ron May – Ancilla College

Chris Eberly – Leadership Marshall County

Mike Stephan – Potawatomi Park

James Erwin – Marshall County Community Foundation, Grants Committee Chair

Tags: ,