Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


March 30, 2011

03/31/11 One Marshall County student has been named the recipient of a four-year, full tuition scholarship as the Marshall County Community Foundation (MCCF) 2011 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.  Ms. Hope Jordan will receive full tuition to the Indiana College of her choice and an $800.00 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. 

Ms. Jordan is the daughter of Jack and Hope Jordan of Bremen, Indiana.  She attends Bremen High School.  Hope is planning to attend DePauw University and will major in Business and pursue minors in Spanish and Psychology.                         

The 2011 MCCF Lilly Scholarship Selection Committee consisted of Kay Finlay, Chair, Dr. Don Balka, Tammy Houin, Carolyn Kline, Latham Lawson, Louise Mason, Robert Pickell, Isabel Sanchez, Susan Wagner, Todd Burch, and Barbara Winters. The MCCF committee reviewed 16 applications and interviewed 3 applicants.

Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) administers the scholarship program.  ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. The MCCF committee recommended one finalist and one alternate to the ICI selection committee.

The scholarship is the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment Initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.  Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree.  There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

The Marshall County Community Foundation is a public charity with local roots that helps great ideas take flight through endowment philanthropy.  We are Community-Minded Partners, Trusted Investors, Visionary Thinkers, and Opportunity Connectors.

Picture attached: (Left to Right) Jack Jordan Jr., Jack Jordan Sr., Jennifer S. Maddox, MCCF President & CEO, Hope Jordan, Lilly Scholar, Dr. Hope Jordan, and Kay Finlay, MCCF Chair of the Lilly Scholarship Committee.