Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


December 12, 2011

12/13/11 Marshall County Commissioner Kevin Overmyer was elected President of the Indiana Association of County Commissioners (IACC) Northwest District during the annual conference earlier this month. His peers have selected him to represent them for a third term.  Marshall County Commissioner Jack Roose stated that “Overmyer is a great spokesperson for their district and is dedicated to improving local government.”

As District President, Overmyer will represent the elected county commissioners in the Northwest district of the state, which includes the following counties: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke and White. The IACC is represented by six districts in the state. Overmyer will serve on the IACC’s board of directors, which determines policies and legislative goals for the Association.

LaPorte County Commissioner Ken Layton was elected District Vice President during the meeting as well. The district meeting also included discussion on current issues pertaining to county government in the Northwest District.

The elections were held during the IACC’s 2011 Annual Conference, the largest gathering of County Commissioners in the state.  The four day conference included 15 different workshops, and breakout sessions that were designed specifically for county commissioners and support staff.  County Commissioners also had informal opportunities to discuss issues with their colleagues from other areas of the state.  Officials met at the Sheraton Hotel, Keystone at the Crossing in Marion County to discuss and offer solutions for issues facing local governments.  Representatives from public agencies, private entities, universities and local elected officials addressed such issues as: Working together for a better Government, 2012  IACC Legislative issues, Economic Development, Health Care Solutions, and How will Indiana advance its transportation infrastructure were among the many sessions offered.

The Indiana Association of County Commissioners is a nonprofit organization established to provide the best education, leadership support, and advocacy services for our County Commissioners to strengthen their influence throughout Indiana.  The objectives of the Association are: to promote cooperation of the county unit with all other units of local government, (cities, towns, township, etc.) and with state and federal agencies; and to promote improvement and efficiency in the delivery of county government services.  The various functions of the IACC include lobbying the Indiana General Assembly on behalf of County Commissioners, serving as liaison among counties, state and federal agencies as well as providing technical assistance and training to county commissioners and support staff.