Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 16 Ancilla Students

March 17, 2011

03/18/11 Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges, has inducted 16 new members from Ancilla College for the spring semester.

Those inducted to Ancilla’s Beta Beta Beta chapter on March 13 include: Hollie Anderson (Plymouth); Jeana Barlow (Knox); Haily Barnaby (Bourbon); Connie Bennett (Culver); Carolyn Conner (Knox); RaBekah Day (Bourbon); Pandora Gregor (Grovertown); Miranda Hammons (Indianapolis); Audrey Heinlein (Plymouth); Stephanie Jordan (Knox); Etta Kendrick (North Judson); Eric Laird (Plymouth); Brooke Mathias (Roann); Kaitlyn Randolph (Wakarusa); Preston Smith (Grovertown); and Nicole Trudell (Horton, MI).

“These students are to be commended for their exemplary academic accomplishments,” said Cynthia Cawthon, who serves as the chapter’s co-advisor alongside fellow faculty member Jane Yochum.  “They must attain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average to be invited to join Phi Theta Kappa. As commuter students maintaining hectic schedules, this is not a simple feat.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, and Palau.

To be eligible for membership a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of associate degree course work and generally earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college, generally a 3.25 GPA.

Ancilla College is a Catholic, two-year, co-educational, liberal arts college in Donaldson, Indiana sponsored by the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ.

Photo: Front Row (L to R): Nicole Trudell, Kaitlyn Randolph, Jeana Barlow, Brooke Mathias, Haily Barnaby, Audrey Heinlein, Stephanie Jordan.  Back Row (L to R): Carolyn Conner, Miranda Hammons, Jerry Meyers, Preston Smith, Pandora Gregor, Versie Ford, Etta Kendrick.