Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Preservation Society Presents 5 Awards

October 18, 2011

10/19/11 Wythougan Valley Preservation Council celebrated its 12th annual meeting at the newly restored Bremen Depot on Oct. 15.  A downtown walking tour of historic sites was conducted by Historic Bremen, Inc. prior to the start of the meeting.  RT Henke provided a project overview of the depot restoration.  The election of officers was held:  Karin Rettinger was elected Secretary-Treasurer, Teressa Welbom was elected Vice President, and Kurt Garner was elected President.

The non-profit county-wide preservation organization handed out its annual Daniel McDonald Heritage Awards, named for county historian, statesman, and newspaperman, Daniel McDonald.  This year’s recipients are Historic Bremen, Inc. and the Town of Bremen for the restoration of the depot, Potawatomi Wildlife Park for the restoration of the Boots-Myers Cabin, Partners in Preservation, Inc. for the funding of several National Register nominations, Carroll Zartman and the Tyner Cemetery Association for the preservation work at Tyner Cemetery including the restoration of the mausoleum, and Michael D. Boys for his lifetime of contributing stories about Marshall County history in the Pilot News.