Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!


April 1, 2013

  04/02/13 At the Marshall County Reading Council spring banquet last week, the annual Celebrate Literacy award was presented to the Plymouth Kiwanis for their long-time financial support for the annual Young Authors’ Conference.

   The second Celebrate Literacy award went to volunteers Teri and David Lee for their contributions toward reading and writing at Culver Elementary School.

  Guest speaker at the banquet was Melanie Park, Indiana Teacher of the Year, who also visited several Plymouth schools earlier in the day.  Also on the agenda was Brooke Busse, Plymouth educator, who spoke on 21st Century Skills in the Classroom.  Next year’s officers were elected including president Shelley Johnson, president-elect Jennifer Knebel, vice president Jean Ahlenius, secretary Carol Jackson, treasurer Cyndy McKenzie, building rep coordinator Jill Finley, newsletter Jenny Mevis, and Books for Babies coordinator Natasha  Blackford.

Information about the upcoming Young Authors’ Conference was presented.  The theme of this year’s conference is “County Fair” which will be held at Bremen Elementary School on April 19th.  Information concerning the conference is available by emailing Cyndy McKenzie at


Photo 1: Tammy Boys, representing the Plymouth Kiwanis, is presented the Celebrate Literacy award by Reading Council President Teri Zechiel.

Andrea Berndt presents the Celebrate Literacy award to Culver volunteers Teri and David Lee

Indiana Teacher of the Year Melanie Park chats with Jenny Mevis at the banquet