Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

M.C. Historical Society Annual Meeting

June 4, 2013

  06/05/13 On May 22nd the Marshall County Historical Society held their annual meeting at Christo’s Banquet Center. 

  Pastor Ron Liechty, President of the Board of Trustees  welcomed the crowd of nearly 200.  After a wonderful dinner the business meeting was opened.  Liechty said, “Financially we are in the best shape we’ve ever been in”,” noting that with the land and historically filled home donated to the society last year by Elizabeth “Lib” Marshall the society is well off.  He said, “With this donation we are not just keeping things going, but expanding.”  Liechty continued, “There’s lots of new stuff and new things going on at the museum along with new staff.”   He then introduced Mindy Langdon and Tim Good.  Other new things include a new integrated computer system with specialized museum software and lots of new activities going on all the time.

 The Marshall County Historical Society elected Dr. Don Balka from LaPaz, James Erwin from LaPaz, Adam Lukenbill from Plymouth, Sheila Reed from Bremen and Phyllis Schoonover from Culver to another 4 year term on the Board of Trustees.  They also elected Dr. Tom Pedavoli from Plymouth to a 2 year term. 

  The entertainment for the evening was highlighting the Miss Plymouth Pageant which ran from 1958 to 1987.  As many of the former queens took their place at the head table the Miss America theme song performed by Burt Parks was played.

Guest speaker for the evening was Tommye Lou (Glaze) Beavers, who was the first Miss Plymouth in 1958 and won the title again in 1960.  She then went on to be Miss Indiana and was 4th runner-up in the Miss America Pageant. 

  Former Miss Plymouth’s each spoke and talked about their memories, the behind the scenes activities and what they learned from their experiences.  Along with the queens were Don Morrison and Margaret Roahrig who played iatrical parts in the pageants and assisted the queens that went on to the Miss Indiana pageant and those who made it to the Miss American pageant.