Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

PHS Debate Returns to the Top 10 – Crowns First State Debate Champion

February 13, 2013

  02/14/2013 The Plymouth High School Debate Team recently traveled to Kokomo High School for the IHSFA State Competition and returned with the 9th place trophy. The four-person debate team out-dueled many other teams by entering only one of Indiana’s four debate events. “The dominance of our speech team often makes it difficult for PHS speakers to remain interested in debate,” reported Head Speech and Debate Coach Dave McKenzie. “This group stuck with it and performed very well to overcome much larger and diverse teams from across the state.”

Senior Michaila Nate led the way advancing through the regional and semi-state chambers by virtue of victories in each. In the Super Senate, she competed head-to-head against the top sixteen speakers in Indiana. After almost ten hours of debate on nine different pieces of legislation, Michaila emerged victorious. She is the first Debate State Champion in Plymouth history. Plymouth narrowly missed state championships in 2002 when Amy Kelley and Marjorie Kreighbaum finished 2nd in Policy Debate as well as 2000 when Phil Kreighbaum finished 2nd in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Michaila competed at the NFL National Tournament in Congress as a sophomore and a junior. She also competed at the NCFL Grand National Tournament as a junior. Pictured above: Michaila Nate holding her Super Senate qualification ribbon as well as her State Championship trophy.

Other points toward the 9th place team finish were earned by sophomore Garrick Nate who advanced to the semi-state round of Congressional Debate and freshman Emily McKenzie who was named a Presiding Officer in the Regional House of Representatives. Freshman Maddy Deisch also competed in the Regional House of Representatives and narrowly missed advancing to the semi-state.

  Team – left to right – Emily McKenzie (with her gavel for being named Regional Presiding Officer), Garrick Nate (holding his semi-state qualification ribbon and a share of the 9th place team trophy), Michaila Nate (holding her state final qualification ribbon, her state championship ribbon and a share of the 9th place team trophy), and Maddy Deisch.

Provided by Plymouth Community Schools