Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

PHS Speech Dominates on the Way to 32nd Consecutive Sectional Championship

March 5, 2013

  03/06/13  Last Saturday, the Plymouth High School Speech Team competed in its Sectional and more than doubled the total of 2nd place Concord on its way to victory over the 11 team field.  Plymouth finished the day with 237 points to out-distance Concord’s total 113. Canterbury finished third with 54 points on the day.

The victory marked Plymouth’s 32nd consecutive Sectional Championship, a streak that began with former coach Dan Tyree’s second team in 1982. In the school’s inaugural 1981 season, the team finished 2nd in the Sectional tournament.

Additionally, Plymouth became one of only two teams in the state to advance 39 entries to the State Finals which will be held at Fishers High School on March 23rd. Those 39 entries will attempt to continue another streak. The team has never finished outside the top ten, including that first team in 1981.

The team also won individual championships in over half of the events. A complete listing of individual finishes included the following:

Pauline Dagaas (senior) – Sectional Champion in Declamation
April Bowen (junior) – Sectional Champion in Drama
Clayton Lenig (sophomore) and Jillian Smith (freshman) – Sectional Champion in Memorized Duo
Travis Tredway (junior) and Chase Holzwart (sophomore) – Sectional Champion in Scripted Duo
Curtis Smith (freshman) – Sectional Champion in International Extemp
Kalee Lowry (sophomore) – Sectional Champion in Original Performance
Gracie Gilbertson (junior) – Sectional Champion in Prose
Michaila Nate (senior) – Sectional Champion in US Extemp
Garrick Nate (sophomore) – 2nd place in Discussion
Christie Gorka (sophomore) – 2nd place in Drama
Becca Houser (senior) and Breanna Morrow (junior) – 2nd place in Scripted Duo
Shelby Pratt (junior) – 2nd place in Humor
Michaila Nate (senior) – 2nd place in Impromptu
Kylee Rippy (sophomore) – 2nd place in International Extemp
Pauline Dagaas (senior) – 2nd place in Original Oratory
Kate Peters (junior) and Tyler Wagner (junior) – 2nd place in Original Performance
Elizabeth Polstra (freshman) – 2nd place in Poetry
Chase Holzwart (sophomore) – 2nd place in Prose
Emily Gadziola (junior) – 3rd place in Declamation
Travis Tredway (junior) – 3rd place in Drama
April Bowen (junior) and Shelby Pratt (junior) – 3rd place in Memorized Duo
Gio Garcia (freshman) and Yailin Rodriguez (freshman) – 3rd place in Scripted Duo
Kate Peters (junior) – 3rd place in Humor
Ellen Smith (junior) – 3rd place in Impromptu
Ellen Smith (junior) – 3rd place in Original Oratory
Becca Houser (senior) – 3rd place in Original Performance
Brantlee Joseph (sophomore) – 3rd place in US Extemp
Meghan Egierski (freshman) – 4th place in Declamation
Melanie Cooper (freshman) – 4th place in Discussion
Lauren Deisch (freshman) and Meghan Egierski (freshman) – 4th in Memorized Duo
Kylee Rippy (sophomore) – 4th place in Impromptu
Olivia Wendel (freshman) – 4th place in Poetry
Maddy Deisch (freshman) – 4th place in US Extemp
Gracie Gilbertson (junior) and Kalee Lowry (sophomore) – 5th place in Scripted Duo
Emily McKenzie (freshman) – 6th place in Broadcasting
Savannah Mae (junior) – 6th place in Declamation
Grace Cupka (freshman) – 6th place in Impromptu
Sara Smith (freshman) – 6th place in International Extemp
Gabby Garver (freshman) – 6th place in Original Oratory