Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Preservation Council Presents Awards at Annual Meeting

October 6, 2013

10/07/13 The annual meeting of Wythougan Valley Preservation Council was held on Friday, October 4th at the Izaak Walton League Clubhouse in Argos.  The evening included a benefit supper, presentations of the Daniel McDonald Award for Preservation, and a program that highlighted several aspects of the clubhouse that was recently listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  Officers for the 2013-2014 term are Karin Rettinger, Secretary-Treasurer, Teressa Welborn, Vice-President, and Kurt Garner, President.  New board members Scott Schuster and Bill Watson were also appointed.

The recipients of the Daniel McDonald Award for Preservation were Mr. Phil Wiegand for his Eagle Scout Project that restored and added amenities to Fair Cemetery and the LaPaz Lions Club for their work in signing the county’s cemeteries.  Mr. Louis Flora and Mrs. Judith Burns received Daniel McDonald Awards for their contribution to the county’s recorded history in the German Township and Union Township areas, respectively.  Mr. Flora’s work includes a compilation of information regarding Marshall County’s Federal Relief programs of the 1930s.  The First Presbyterian Church of Plymouth was also recognized for its 175th year in the community.

Following the awards a program was given that traced the Argos Izaak Walton League’s history from the club’s founding in 1926 until the clubhouse was completed under the Federal Relief program in 1937.  The program showcased several projects completed under the CCC and WPA in Marshall County, as well as the work of accomplished stone mason Bill Foker who oversaw the stonework on the clubhouse at 80 years of age.

Photo (left to right):  Phil Wiegand, Don Balka accepting on behalf of the LaPaz Lions Club, Louis Flora, Judith Burns, and Pastor Jean Sparks and Penny Lukenbill accepting on behalf of the First Presbyterian Church.


Tags: ,