Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Rep. Harman authors legislation to aid police officers, firefighters

February 5, 2013

  02/06/13 State Representative Tim Harman (R-Bremen) authored legislation that addresses the 1977 Police Officers’ and Firefighters’ Pension and Disability Fund (1977 Fund). The bill, House Bill (HB) 1561, removes the requirement for members of the fund to reapply for membership after transferring to another job. HB 1561 passed out of the House with a unanimous vote today.

The 1977 Fund aids full-time police officers and firefighters through benefits and retirement assistance. Under current law, members of the fund are required to reapply for membership after transferring to another city or job. HB 1561 would eliminate the requirement for members to reapply.

“This issue was brought to my attention by our local police chief,” said Rep. Harman. “It’s a common sense bill. Eliminating the requirement for members to reapply will save local departments over $1,000 for every member who transfers to another job by not having to pay for their reapplication process, which includes an extensive, costly physical.”

The 1977 Fund is funded through employer (city and town) contributions, as well as through member contributions, which are 6 percent of the salary of a first class officer. As of July 1, 2012, the 1977 Fund had 16,729 members.

“Our police officers and firefighters bravely serve our communities,” said Rep. Harman. “The 1977 Fund provides numerous financial benefits for their healthcare and retirement, and it is very important to me to make that assistance as convenient for them as possible.”

HB 1561 is co-authored by Reps. Timothy Wesco (R-Osceola) and David Ober (R-Albion) and will now be discussed and debated in the Senate. To stay up-to-date on bills as they move through the legislative process, visit

Rep. Tim Harman (R-Bremen) represents all of Marshall County and a large portion of Fulton County. He serves as a member of the Courts & Criminal Code, Government & Regulatory Reform and Local Government committees.