Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Vervynckt Named 2013 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar

April 14, 2013

  04/15/13 One Marshall County student has been named recipient of a four-year, full tuition scholarship as the Marshall County Community Foundation 2013 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. Mr. Gabe Vervynckt will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of his choice and a $900.00 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. Mr. Gabe Vervynckt is the son of James and Laura Vervynckt of Plymouth, IN.  He attends Plymouth High School.  Gabe is planning to attend Grace College and will major in accounting.

For 2013, the Lilly Scholarship Selection Committee, consisting of Kay Finlay, Chair, Dr. Don Balka, , Carolyn Kline, Ron Zeltwanger, Connie Lemler, Beth Styers, Kurt Garner, John Small Jr., Jared Weidner and Barbara Winters recommended one finalist and two alternates to the Board of Directors of the Marshall County Community Foundation. The committee reviewed 23 applications and interviewed 4 applicants.

ICI (Independent Colleges of Indiana) administers the scholarship program. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.  The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment Initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

The mission of the Marshall County Community Foundation is to serve all of Marshall County, its people and its future through the growth and administration of endowment funding and philanthropy.

For more information contact Linda Yoder, Executive Director, Marshall County Community Foundation at 574-935-5159 or visit our website at

Pictured are: Linda Yoder Executive Director, Marshall County Community Foundation, Kay Finlay, Chair of Lilly Scholarship Committee, Gabe Vervynckt, Laura Vervynckt, Lucas Vervynckt and James Vervynckt.

Tags: ,