Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

2014 River-Friendly Farmer Awards to be presented August 13th

August 4, 2014

RIver Friendly Farmer award(INDIANAPOLIS) – In a ceremony to coincide with Farmers’ Day at the 2014 Indiana State Fair, fifty-nine River-Friendly Farmers will be recognized by the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) for the work they do to protect Indiana’s natural resources.

Farmers representing counties from around the state will be honored at 1 p.m. in the 4-H Exhibit Hall Auditorium at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

Looking at Marshall Starke, Fulton and Kosciusko counties you find Fred R. Jones being honored in Marshall County, Arthur Gudas in Fulton County, the Eaton Grain Farm LLC in Kosciusko County and Bob Koch and Ken Schultz in Starke County.

IN Assoc Soil & Water ConservationPresenting the award will be Indiana State Department of Agriculture Director Ted McKinney, President of Indiana Farm Bureau Don Villwock, and State Conservationist Jane Hardisty, and IASWCD President Jeff Meinders.

The River-Friendly Farmers were selected for this award by their local Soil and Water Conservation District based upon their management practices which help keep rivers, lakes and streams clean. The award is sponsored by the IASWCD, the ninety-two local Soil and Water Conservation Districts, and Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc.

2014 River-Friendly Farmers
To read more about each recipient visit the IASWCD website.