Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

County Council Reorganizes for 2014

January 14, 2014

  01/15/14 Conducting their first meeting of the new year, members of the Marshall County Council conducted the annual reorganization of the council.  The decision was made to retain the same officers, Matt Hassel as President and Don Morrison as Vice President.  Representative to MACOG will continue to be Judy Stone.  Council members reviewed and decided to maintain the same liaison assignments.

Clyde Avery, County EMA Director received council authorization to apply for a grant from Homeland Security in the amount of $3,100.  The reimbursement grant would be used to purchase $2,100 in computer equipment for the Emergency Operations Center and $1,000 for amateur radio equipment which can provide emergency back-up communications. 

The county commissioners also approved the grant application at their meeting last week.

In other business the County Council approved the request of James Phibush from the Probation department to waive the probationary pay for a full-time employee.  He explained that the employee has been with the department since 2004 part-time and has moved into the full-time receptionist position.  The probationary period calls for 90% pay for 90 days.  They also approved her hire date as of January 6th.

The 2014 Sheriff’s contract for Tom Chamberlin was approved with a 3% increase bringing his annual salary to $82,215.38. 

Council members also appointed Ronald Armstead to the Koontz Lake Regional Sewer District.  Amstead is a Starke County resident and after some investigation it was determined if no one from Marshall County was willing to serve or have the ability to attend meetings that another willing resident could be appointed by the Marshall County Council.