Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Elks “HOOP SHOOT” Winners from Plymouth

March 11, 2014

03/11/14 Daniel Bacon and Clay Hilliard, both of Plymouth, were first place winners in the third round of competition in the Elks “Hoop Shoot” free throw contest at New Castle, IN, Saturday, February 22.  Daniel, the 10-11 year old boy’s group winner and Clay, the 12-13 year old boy’s winner were sponsored by the Plymouth Elks Lodge #2548.  Along with the other champions, Daniel and Clay will advance to the Fourth Round in the Regional Finals in Angola, Indiana on March 15, where they will compete with other winners from Ohio and Michigan.  The winners of the Regional will then advance to the National Finals to be held in Springfield MA.

The “Elks Hoop Shoot” began as a local program by Corvallis, Oregon Elks in 1946, is in its 42th

year of national competition.  Each winner of this state “Hoop Shoot” will be one of over three million American youngsters who participated in local, District, State and Regional contests.  Thirty-six boys and thirty-six girls will remain to complete in Springfield after all regionals have been completed. From this outstanding group, one boy and one girl in each age category (8-9, 10-11, 12-13 years old) will be named National Champion.

Each National winner will receive an individual trophy and his or her name will be inscribed on a special plaque displayed at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA.  This project is supported by the interest earned on donations made through the Elks National Foundation, which provides scholarships and grants to outstanding young students.


Pictured: Left to Right:  Indiana Elks Association State Hoop Shoot Chairman: Gary Hendrick. 3rd place: Joshua Pyne, 1st place: Daniel Bacon, 2nd place: Cameron Jackman, Indiana Elks Association President: John Sauer.


  Pictured: Left to Right: State Hoop Shoot Director Gary Hedrick, 3rd place: Jake Miller,

1st place: Clay Hilliard,  2nd place: Cadon Cannon,  Indiana Elks Association President: John Sauer.