Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Leadership Marshall County Graduates Class XIX

May 30, 2014

Leadership Marshall County (LMC), a joint program between the Marshall County Community Foundation and the United Way of Marshall County, held graduation for the seventeen participants of Class XIX on May 14, 2014 in the Legion Memorial Building at Culver Academies. The number of LMC participants since the program’s start in 1995 now totals 301. Mr. Francis Ellert, General Manager of the Coca-Cola Bottling Company, was the guest speaker for the evening. 

Leadership Marshall County is a nine month program that takes place September through May, and is dedicated to cultivating today’s leaders to serve tomorrow’s community by building a solid foundation of informed, action-oriented employees and citizens. Participants gain valuable exposure to community leaders, programs and service initiatives, while engaging in interactive assignments which raise community awareness and action. Involvement in group projects encourages further investigation into long-term community goals, strategies and planning objectives.

Projects presented this year included: Kids’ Expo, W82txt, Fitness Group, and the “Egg”-Straordinary Food Project. Mrs. Valerie Weis, LMC Chair, announced the winner of this year’s class project. The Kid’s Expo, a project undertaken by Cindy Flagg, Shelly Heiden, Bev McDonald and Marla Murasko, received top honors and will receive a $500 cash award to support ongoing efforts with the program. The intent of the expo is to promote summer programs, camps, and activities for children throughout Marshall County.  The Boys and Girls Club of Marshall County hosted the event which was held April 19, 2014.  There were a total of 28 booths, over 200 visitors, and 190 prizes for the kids.  Plans are already underway for the 2015 Marshall County Kid’s Expo. For more information, visit their Facebook page: Marshall County Kid’s Expo.   

For further information, visit, or contact the Marshall County Community Foundation office at 574.935.5159 or by email at


Attached Picture: 

Front Row: Jerry Gates, MCCF Chair, Julie Berndt, Billie Treber, Aimee Portteus, Marla Murasko, Shelley Heiden, Vicky Hines, Valerie Weis, LMC Chair, Francis Ellert, UW President.

Back Row: Caryn Escher, Jennifer Shaw, Rachelle Brown, Allison Kara, Beverley McDonald, Kaydi McMahan, Kellie Kanarr, Cindy Flagg. Not Pictured: Craig Schneider and Lissa Newton