Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Mercer named to All Star team

April 12, 2014

Thirteen players led by Mr. Basketball Trey Lyles of Indianapolis Tech have been selected for the 2014 Indiana Boys All-Stars.

A 6-10 forward, Lyles collected 117 votes in the Mr. Basketball balloting to capture the top individual honor for the state’s boys basketball players. Trevon Bluiett of Park Tudor received 108 votes to finish as runner-up for Mr. Basketball. James Blackmon Jr. of Marion was third with 95 votes. Bryant McIntosh of Greensburg and Tyler Wideman of Lake Central tied for fourth with seven votes apiece.

Lyles recently was chosen a McDonald’s All-American, to the Parade All-America Team and as the Gatorade Player of the Year for Indiana. The University of Kentucky recruit averaged 23.7 points, 12.9 rebounds and 3.5 assists as a senior while leading Tech to a 27-2 record and the Class 4A state championship.

Lyles headlines a 13-member group of senior All-Stars who will play four games in June — two exhibitions against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.

Others chosen to the 2014 Indiana Boys All-Stars are Bluiett, Blackmon, McIntosh, Wideman, Grant Evans of Wapahani, Tayler Persons of Kokomo, D.J. McCall of Fort Wayne Concordia, P.J. Thompson of Brebeuf Jesuit, Jeremie Tyler of Indianapolis Tech, Zach McRoberts of Carmel, Mack Mercer of Plymouth and Sean Sellers of Greensburg.    The head coach for the 2014 Boys All-Stars will be David Benter of Brownstown Central. He will be assisted by James Blackmon Sr. of Marion and Clint Swan of Crown Point.

The Indiana Boys All-Stars will play exhibitions against the Indiana Junior All-Stars on June 9 at Logansport and June 11 at Columbus North. The Indiana All-Stars also will face the Kentucky All-Stars on June 13 at Transylvania University in Lexington and June 14 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. All four dates will be doubleheaders with the Indiana Boys All-Stars.

The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and a girls’ portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976.

The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with brand, is a title sponsor and Best Choice Fieldhouse is a presenting sponsor.

Mr. Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Charlie Hall after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each can recommend up to 12 players.

A complete list of those chosen as 2014 Indiana Boys All-Stars follows.

2014 Indiana Boys All-Stars

1 Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech,

2 James Blackmon Jr., Marion, 6-3, G, 33.6, Indiana

3 Grant Evans, Wapahani, 6-3, G, 25.5, Wright State

4 Tayler Persons, Kokomo, 6-2, G, 18.2, Northern Kentucky

5 D.J. McCall, Fort Wayne Concordia, 6-5, G, 18.5, IUPUI

6 P.J. Thompson, Brebeuf Jesuit, 5-11, G, 23.6, Purdue

7 Bryant McIntosh, Greensburg, 6-4, G, 14.3, Northwestern

8 Jeremie Tyler, Indianapolis Tech, 6-3, G, 16.2, Ball State

9 Zach McRoberts, Carmel, 6-6, F, 14.1, Vermont

10 Mack Mercer, Plymouth, 6-9, F, 17.1, Belmont

11 Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor, 6-6, G/F, 36.2, Xavier

12 Sean Sellers, Greensburg, 6-6, F, 20.7, Ball State

13 Tyler Wideman, Lake Central, 6-8, F, 15.7, Butler

Head coach: David Benter, Brownstown Central

Assistant coaches: James Blackmon Sr., Marion;

Clint Swan, Crown Point