Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

PHS Academic Hall of Fame Ceremony

May 18, 2014

  Twelve graduating seniors from Plymouth High School Class of 2014 were inducted in the Academic Hall of Fame on May 18. The Academic Hall of Fame was first established in 1986, under the direction of former Principal Larry Pinkerton.


Speaking of the new inductees, Current Principal James Condon said, “When they were freshman, I told them to put themselves in a position to control their choices.” As PHS Assistant Principal, Kyle Coffman, outlined the requirements for induction, it became clear that the students had done just that.

To be considered for the honor, students must meet required criteria and be recommended by a department faculty member. Criteria includes the following: Must be graduating senior in good standing; have taken classes in the respective department for a minimum of eight trimesters and have a minimum of an “A” average or 11:00 point value in the respective department for their high school career.

A student may be recognized in a maximum of two curriculums or departments and each department may establish criteria beyond the minimum requirement. No ties are accepted by the Hall of Fame Committee.

Coffman, said, “These students are now part of a proud tradition at Plymouth High School, a tradition that recognizes not just skill, but will.” He added, “I have full confidence in our inductees: the dispositions that earned them this honor will be the same dispositions that will lead to their success in the future.”


Class of 2014 inductees:

Vocal Music: Deborah Anders, daughter of Curt Anders and Kathy Anders will be attending Grace College to pursue a degree in counseling and educational ministry. Introducing Anders was Director of Choral Studies, Parker Terry. Terry said Anders participated in 12 trimesters of choir classes. He read a lengthy list of leadership roles that Anders had taken on in the department including choreographing, 


Physical Education: Kyle Barry plans to attend Indiana Wesleyan University to study business and psychology. He is the son of Steve Barry and Pam Barry. PHS teacher and Coach John Barron called Barry “selfless”. Barron said, “Kyle makes everyone around him feel better.”


Instrumental Music: Jessica Beagle, daughter of John Beagle and Jill Beagle, will attend IPFW to study radiology. Band Director Bryan Ames said Beagle has taken four years of band as well as multiple music classes. He said she is both a role model as a drum major and a leader as she helps younger students.


Business: Emily Denny will be attending Ball State University to pursue a degree in accounting. She is daughter of David Denny and Karen Denny. Business teacher Gene Skirvin introduced Denny saying, “She excelled as a leader.” He said Denny encouraged others to complete paperwork for competition.


Social Studies: Nathan Mahan, son of Terry Mahan and Amy Mahan, plans to attend Purdue University to study quantitative analysis. Social studies teacher Laura Kruyer said, “Nathan has demonstrated a willingness to challenge himself by taking a number of advanced placement classes.”


Art: Alexandria Pesak is heading to the University of Indianapolis where she will pursue visual communication design. She is the daughter of Robert Pesak and Maria Pesak. Art teacher Haley Church spoke highly of Pesak and her perseverance. She challenged Pesak to continue with her art, saying, “The lesson is “it’s about what you see in yourself“.” Church said Pesak was a caring peer tutor.


Performing Arts: Katherine Peters, daughter of Tim Peters and Marianne Peters plans to attend Indiana University to pursue studies in theater and telecommunications.  According to Theater teacher, Jane Faulstich, Peters was the first student in 18 years to direct a one- act play as a junior. Faulstich said, “Kate has a unique way of processing (information) and not being afraid to try.”


Science: Logan Richards will attend Purdue University to study biochemistry. He is the son of Tracy Paxton. Speaking of Richards’ accomplishments, physics teacher Paul Patrick said, Logan took all three upper level courses. It is a challenge he took upon himself.” He added, “He wanted to delve in at a deeper level.”


Broadcasting: Haley Stein, daughter of Lance Stein and Michelle Stein, plans to attend Ancilla College to study communications. Broadcasting teacher, David McKenzie, said Stein has taken a number of dual credit courses. He said, “She worked for not just proficiency, but for mastery.”


World Language: Ellen Smith will attend DePauw University to study biology and Spanish. She is the daughter of Tim Smith and Sarah Smith. Spanish language teacher, Delia Gadziola, said, “Ellen has a passion for language.” She said Smith was able to pass a rigorous test for an Indiana University honors program.


English/Mathematics: Travis Tredway will attend Notre Dame University where he plans to study pre-medicine. He is the son of Tracy Tredway and Debbie Stinson. Tredway was the only student to be honored in two areas of study. English teacher, Josh Martin read from two essays that Tredway had written, referring to them as sophisticated. He said, “Travis is the total package-humble, hard working, and able to collaborate with his peers.”

Speaking to Tredway’s success in mathematics was teacher Ryan Rust. Rust said, “He is the best of the best.” He added, “He helps other students understand the lessons.”


Industrial Technology: Corey Wallace plans to attend Purdue University to pursue a degree in engineering. He is the son of Larry Wallace and Kathy Wallace. Industrial Arts teacher, Rich Schieber, spoke of Wallace’s leadership role. He said, “Corey is a remarkable young man who exemplifies what it means.” He said Wallace has taken four years of Project Lead the Way classes.


Coffman closed the ceremony saying,  “Continue to strive for excellence not just for yourself, but for others.”

Hall of Fame committee members included Charlotte Tyree, Delia Gadziola, Paul Patrick, Grant Masson, Aimee Portteus, James Condon, Kyle Coffman, Ken Olson, and Lisa Huff.