Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Plymouth Speedway Banquet Honors 2013 Champions

January 20, 2014

  01/21/14 Plymouth Speedway owner Ed Kennedy and the staff of Plymouth Speedway welcomed the five champions and the top ten finishers in each racing division, their families and fans at the 2013 Awards Banquet on Saturday night.

The Newton Center was filled with eager racers and employees to hear some news about the 2014 and to be honored for their accomplishments last season. Rick Hummer put together a stellar video presentation taking attendees through the inaugural dirt season.

It was announced that the concessions will be under new management and food and refreshments will be offered at a more edible cost. Ed Kennedy also announced that a UMP Modified Champions from around U.S. will gather at the track in the fall to go for an overall winner with a payout of $5,000! For a full 2014 schedule, visit

NASCAR driver David Stremme addressed the crowd about dirt track racing and the importance of supporting the local track. Fox28 Sports Director Dean Huppert also gave a little background on his brief racing career and how loyal and supportive the sport is to their own drivers and tracks.

Congratulations to the 2013 champions!

Traxxas USAC 600 Restrictors Champion: Garrett Saunders

Traxxas USAC 600 Open: Billy Cribbs

Thunder Stocks: Bryce Shidler

Super Streets: Don McLean

UMP Modifieds: Frank Marshall

David Short was given a special recognition by David Stremme for being a driver who always gives other drivers a hand and helps a lot in the pit area.

The 2014 dirt season at Plymouth Speedway gets underway with a Cabin Fever event on Saturday, April 19 beginning at 7 p.m.

By: Anita Soltis