Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Property tax bills on-time in all 92 counties

April 29, 2014

 04/30/14 The Indiana Department of Local Government Finance (DLGF) announced Monday that property tax bills were issued in all 92 counties. This is the first time since at least 2001 that all 92 counties have achieved on-time billing.

“The DLGF is very pleased that all 92 counties have returned to the normal statutory tax billing cycle,” said DLGF Commissioner Micah G. Vincent. “This milestone could not have been accomplished without the time and effort of the county and township assessors, county auditors, and county treasurers.”

On-time tax bills provide predictability for both taxpayers and local government units. Many of Indiana’s 2,500 local governments will no longer have to borrow money to continue operations while waiting for delayed revenue distributions due to late tax billing and collections.

Indiana’s property tax bills were mailed to taxpayers on or before April 25, 2014. As a general rule, the first property tax installment payment is due to the county treasurer by May 12, 2014 and the second installment is due by November 10, 2014.

Marshall County Treasurer, Debbie VanDeMark would like tax payers to know they can pay their taxes during normal business hours, Monday thru Friday from 8 to 4 in the Treasurer’s office on the second floor of the County building.  They will offer extended hours on Friday, May 9th from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. and on Saturday, May 10th from 9 a.m. until 12 p.m. The Treasurer’s office will be closed on Primary Election Day, May 6th. 

As a courtesy and for tax payer’s convenience any Lake City Bank, and First State bank in Bourbon will collect payments for two weeks prior to the May 12th due date.