Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Teachers Credit Union Announces Annual Student-Athlete Award Winners

February 10, 2014

02/11/14 February 10, 2014 – Teachers Credit Union (TCU) announced today that it has awarded two student-athletes with the annual W.B. Hawkins Award for excellence in academics and athletics.

The winners of the 2014 W.B. Hawkins Award are Sara Ann Slabaugh of Bremen High School in Bremen, Indiana, and Blake Hurford of Oregon-Davis High School in Hamlet, IN. Both student-athlete winners’ school will receive a $1,000 scholarship in the student’s name.

Ms. Slabaugh maintains a 3.56 GPA while running cross country and playing basketball, while also coaching for the Bremen Youth Triathlon. Slabaugh also does a significant amount of volunteer work for her community, including the Special Olympics, IHSAA, Adopt-A-Friend, Boys and Girls Club, among others. Slabaugh was the recipient of the Bremen 2014 Distinguished Young Woman award, and the 2013 Bremen Community Service Award.

Mr. Hurford maintains a 3.94 GPA while playing varsity basketball and golf, and also serving his community as well as other communities abroad. Hurford traveled to Mexico to help build a church in a small community, helped with construction and maintenance at an Indian reservation in Oklahoma, and works with a program that sends people out in the local community to help the elderly and widowers with everyday chores.

The W.B. Hawkins award is presented to the students that make a positive contribution to their community as well as to their school. W.B. Hawkins, former President of Teachers Credit Union from 1962 – 1987, not only dedicated his time to TCU members, but to the credit union movement as a whole.

   Eric Ferguson, Sara Slabaugh, Lori Slabaugh, Bob Slabaugh, Beth Styers

  Randy Lemert, Jeff Hurford, Blake Hurford, Rhonda Hurford, Eric Ferguson