Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Doug Wolfgang Speaks at Plymouth Speedway Championship Banquet

Doug WolfgangDoug Wolfgang shared great memories of his family on the road and had a few laughs remembering some of his best times at race tracks during Saturday’s 2014 Night of Champions Banquet at Swan Lake Resort in Plymouth.  The South Dakota resident, who won over 500 features as a sprint car driver, captivated the crowd when he told of the fiery accident in 1992 at a Kansas Speedway that ended his racing career and how lucky he is to continue his involvement in the racing community.  He even agreed to come back and visit after owner Ed Kennedy announced that the World of Outlaws will be racing at the track on Oct. 17 this season.

Plymouth Speedway 2014 ChampsDecades later, Wolfgang remains a highly respected man in the sport of racing.

Kennedy also spoke of the amount of changes that will be coming to the speedway in the next two years including new clay, bleachers and suites and more to create a state-of-the-art facility for the entire family to enjoy.  He is committed to making this the best racing facility in the Northern Indiana area.

Plymouth Speedway 2014 ChampsThe top 10 drivers were honored during the banquet in each class.

Thunder Stocks top 10: Bryce Shilder (champion), John Rhoads, Kevin Kerlin, Keith Crissinger, Randy Lambert, Eric Brown, Brody Townsend, Mike Yaculllo, Mark Barrett, and Chris Joseph.

Super Streets top 10: Michael Clark (champion), Bob McLean, Nathen Jordan, David Short, Mark Stringer, Evan Fredline, Bobby Keller, Randy Akers, Jim Jarrett, and Tommy Beezley II.

Dickies Restaurant 600 Sprints top 10:  Billy Cribbs (champion), Eric Saunders, Justin Bell and Chad Hartzell tied for third, Randy Shilling, Brad Nichols, Dawson Stealy, Garrett Saunders, Austin Davis, and Nick Yoder.

Swan Lake Resort UMP Modifieds top 10:  Jamie Lomax (champion), Zeke McKenzie, Dillon Nusbaum, Tommy Beezley II, Frank Marshall, Kyle Yocum, Matt Mitchell, Tony Elliott, Steve Hogue, and Josh Elliott.

The Rookie of the Year awards were given to Mike Yacullo in the Thunder Stock Division, Josh Elliott in the Swan Lake Resort UMP Modifieds Division and Justin Bell and Chad Hartzell in the Dickies Restaurant 600 Sprint Division.

(photo caption L to R) Billy Cribbs, Bryce Shilder, Michael Clark and Jamie Lomax.  Photography by Stephanie Reichelt Photography

The next event at Plymouth Speedway will be the Cabin Fever event on Saturday, April 25 at 7 p.m. ET with 410 Sprints, UMP Modifieds, Super Streets, Thunder Stocks, Cyber Stocks, and 600 Sprints.  Come early for practice on Saturday, April 11 and Saturday, April 18.

Provided by Plymouth Speedway