Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

9 Member Shady Rest Committee Appointed

July 4, 2017

shady-rest-homeThe Marshall County Commissioners formalized the Shady Rest Committee during their meeting Monday morning.

During their last meeting in June, Commissioner Kurt Garner volunteered to serve on the committee to investigate, encourage, and review alternative uses of the Shady Rest facility.

The Bowen Center leased the facility for 15 years and earlier this year told the commissioners they would have to cease operations due to new regulations passed by the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services and recently implemented by the Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addiction.

The 9 member committee will include Commissioner Garner, County Council President Judy Stone, County Clerk Deb VanDeMark, Veterans Service Officer Pam Betz, Community Corrections Director Ward Byers, Plymouth City Councilman Bill Walters who also drivers for Older Adult Services, Dustin Schafer from the Neighborhood Center, Citizen Members from Plymouth: Dennis Beville a former banker and from Argos Scott Olds who works at NIPSCO.

Garner said he plans to meet before the end of July with the committee.  It was also noted that their meeting will be open to the public.