Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

River-Friendly Farmer Award to be Presented to Jon & Laura Langfeldt

August 7, 2017

RIver Friendly Farmer awardSince 1999, key conservation and agricultural organizations have sponsored the River Friendly Farmer (RFF) Program. The statewide initiative recognizes farmers, who through good production management practices helps keep Indiana’s rivers, lakes and streams clean.

Annually, each county’s Soil and Water Conservation District may nominate up to two farmers who do an outstanding job of protecting their rivers, lakes and streams through their every day conservation management practices on the farm. Watershed organizations also may nominate farmers for the award by submitting an application to a county SWCD.

Those River Friendly Farmers are then recognized during the Indiana State Fair.  This year’s ceremony will take place on Wednesday, August 16th.    Locally Jon and Laura Langfeldt from Marshall County will be honored along with Fulton County farmer Matt Harsh and Starke County farmer Douglas Klausing.

Former winners in Marshall County include:  David Ringer in 2003; Ancilla Domini Sisters in 2004, Thomas Watkins in 207, Marc Weissert in 2008, Fred R. Jones in 2014 and Tim & Stacha Gochenour in 2016.