Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Plymouth Named 2019 Community of the Year

Plymouth City of the year 2019“Where community and possibilities connect” is more than a slogan for Plymouth. That approach has led to collaborative partnerships, significant projects – and a special buzz about the city. The Indiana Chamber of Commerce has taken notice and is honoring Plymouth with its 2019 Republic Airways and LIFT Academy Community of the Year award.

There are a variety of attributes that impressed the Indiana Chamber, notes its president, Kevin Brinegar.

“Plymouth has a rich history steeped in commerce. Companies settled here because of the foresight of good leadership; companies have stayed here because the community is ever-evolving so businesses can continue to prosper and grow.”

Pretzels, Inc., which relocated to the city in 2015, has announced a $73 million expansion of its pretzel production facility, creating 185 new jobs. Indiana Wheel Company is a start-up affiliate of the world’s largest manufacturer of steel wheels for trailers and recreational vehicles. It will bring $23 million in investment and 117 new jobs.

Current expansions of other businesses include Winona Building Products; Hoosier Racing Tire, the largest racing tire manufacturer in the world; Harrington Noodles, family-owned production of egg noodle products; and Culver Tool & Engineering, homegrown manufacturer of orthopedic spinal rods.

New partnerships have spurred many quality of life enhancements for residents. Examples of recent and current projects:

  • River Park Square, an urban park in the heart of downtown, that is home to the Mayor’s Month of Music series and local farmers market among many activities.
  • A developing aquatic facility and Growing Kids Early Childhood Learning Center are Regional Cities initiatives, as is the River Gate South downtown apartment development designed to attract young working professionals.
  • Historical Rees Theater, an iconic art deco building, being renovated as a multi-use facility capable of hosting special events, live arts performances and traditional film presentations.

Plymouth Mayor Mark Senter says, “It’s truly an honor for the city of Plymouth to be recognized by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce as the Community of the Year. We’re always moving forward. We’re always evolving – imagining what’s next. That creates an energy and an environment where people and businesses can thrive. It’s a privilege to be in this work with the people of Plymouth, making our community a positive place to live, work and play.”

It’s fitting this announcement comes on the opening day of the Marshall County Blueberry Festival, (August 30-September 2) hosted by Plymouth in Centennial Park since 1967. Hundreds of thousands of people flock to the community for the second largest festival in the state.

Plymouth will receive the Community of the Year honor at the Indiana Chamber’s 30th Annual Awards Dinner, presented by Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield, on November 7. Activities are held at the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis and will also include presentation of three additional awards: Ogletree Deakins Business Leader of the Year, Birch Bayh-Richard Lugar Government Leader of the Year and Dynamic Leader of the Year. The winners of those awards will be announced weekly beginning September 10.

Democrat political strategist Donna Brazile and Republican commentator Dana Perino, two prominent political voices at Fox News with links to the White House, are teaming up to keynote the dinner. Seating is limited. Tables of 10 start at $1,650; individual tickets are $165 each. Either can be purchased online at or by calling (800) 824-6885.

The event’s opening reception sponsor is PNC. The speaker sponsor is OneAmerica.

Corporate sponsors are AT&T Indiana, CBRE, French Lick Resort, NIPSCO, Tilson and Zimmer Biomet.

Contributing sponsors are AECOM Hunt; Community Health Network; Corteva Agriscience™, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont; Fineline Printing Group; IGT Indiana; Indiana Soybean Alliance/Indiana Corn Marketing Council; Indiana Wesleyan University; Inside INdiana Business with Gerry Dick; KERAMIDA Inc.; Markey’s Rental & Staging; MCM CPAs & Advisors; Pacers Sports & Entertainment; Plymouth Foundry, Inc.; Roche Diagnostics Corporation; Subaru of Indiana Automotive, Inc.; The Kroger Co.; Vectren, A CenterPoint Energy Company; WFYI Productions; and WGU Indiana.

Additional sponsorships for the Indiana Chamber’s 30th Annual Awards Dinner are available by contacting Jim Wagner at (317) 264-6876 or

Media interested in covering the event should contact Rebecca Patrick at (317) 264-6897 or

The most recent Indiana Chamber of Commerce Community of the Year recipients:

2018: Jasper

2017: Goshen
2016: Fishers
2015: Carmel
2014: Bloomington
2013: Bedford
2012: Indianapolis
2011: Kokomo
2010: Terre Haute
2009: Valparaiso
2008: Noblesville